Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Searching: Databases

Detailed guide to searching tips and tricks

Databases are searchable bibliographic services that collect information based on a particular subject or subjects.They contain citations of journal articles and other publications. There are often links through to full-text journal articles, but if you can't access the articles you need, please complete an online request form.

NHS staff have access to 9 key databases which can be searched individually.. You'll need an NHS OpenAthens login to access them.

Database searching can be time consuming, so the Library offers a literature searching service - we can find the evidence for you.

If you'd like some training on how to use the Databases, please contact our Library & Information Skills Trainer.

Help with HDAS

HDAS will close down on 31 March 2022. After that, you will only be able to access bibliographic databases via provider interfaces (please see section on native interfaces).

Visit the HDAS closure page for information to help you prepare or see the video below on how to export your searches.
 

We offer a literature search service which supports information needs to support:

  • Patient care
  • Service development and audits
  • Research
  • Guideline development

To request a literature search, please complete our online request form, or e-mail rde-tr.library@nhs.net with the details of your search question.

Healthcare databases (NHS OpenAthens login required)

NICE provides access to 9 key databases.

NB:  HDAS will close down on 31 March 2022. After that, you will only be able to access bibliographic databases via provider interfaces.

Visit our HDAS closure page for information to help you prepare.

If you will need help moving from HDAS to provider interfaces, please contact us.

 

 

 

Access all of the databases at:
https://hdas.nice.org.uk/
(NHS OpenAthens login required)

Searching Health Databases (NHS OpenAthens login required)

Ovid allows you to search Medline, Embase, Emcare, HMIC and AMED for thousands of full-text journal articles, eBooks and database resources, offering medical, nursing, and allied health content.

  • Medline - Covers a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
  • EMBASE - Covers pharmacology, pharmaceutics, drug research, toxicology and more.
  • Emcare - Covers nursing and allied health disciplines.
  • HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium) - Covers health policy, management & administration, quality and safety etc.
  • AMED (Allied & Complimentary Medicine) - Covers complementary medicine, palliative care and allied health professions.

Ovid Basic Searching

Ovid Support Documents/Links


 

ProQuest allows you to search PsycInfo, Medline and BNI for scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more.

  • PsycINFO - Covers psychology and related disciplines.
  • Medline - Covers a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
  • BNI (British Nursing Index) - Covers all aspects of nursing, midwifery and community healthcare.

ProQuest Basic Searching

ProQuest Advanced Searching

ProQuest Support Documents/Links


 

EBSCO allows you to search CINAHL, Medline and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection for thousands on indexed journals articles covering many areas of healthcare.

  • CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literatures) - Covers all aspects of nursing and allied health disciplines.
  • Medline - Covers a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection -  a comprehensive database covering behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. 

EBSCOhost Introduction

EBSCOhost Support Documents/Links


 

Other databases

In addition to the databases, there are other resources you can search for evidence.

You may also like to see our Evidence-based practice resources webpage, for clinical decision making tools.

Use Chrome or Edge but not Internet Explorer

When using any links from our website pages (https://exeterhealthlibrary.net) or logging on to NHS Open Athens (https://openathens.nice.org.uk) to access journals please ensure that Chrome or Edge is selected as your browser of choice.

Internet Explorer will no longer be supported and all publishers have accordingly deprecated access so links will no longer work correctly.publishers have accordingly deprecated access so links will no longer work correctly.