Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are searchable bibliographic services that collect information based on a particular subject or subjects.They contain citations of journal articles and other publications. There are often links through to full-text journal articles, but if you can't access the articles you need, please complete an online request form.
NHS staff have access to 8 key databases which can be searched individually or simultaneously via the Healthcare Databases Advanced Search (HDAS) platform. You'll need an NHS OpenAthens login to access HDAS.
Database searching can be time consuming, so the Library offers a literature searching service - we can find the evidence for you.
If you'd like some training on how to use the Databases, please contact our Library & Information Skills Trainer.
HDAS databases (NHS OpenAthens login required)
NICE Healthcare Advanced Database Search (HDAS) provides access to 8 key databases.
- AMED (Allied & Complimentary Medicine)
Covers complimentary medicine, palliative care and allied health professions.
- BNI (British Nursing Index)
Covers all aspects of nursing, midwifery and community healthcare.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literatures)
Covers all aspects of nursing and allied health disciplines.
Covers pharmacology, pharmaceutics, drug research, toxicology and more.
Covers nursing and allied health disciplines.
- HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium)
Covers health policy, management & administration, quality and safety etc.
Covers a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
Covers psychology and related disciplines.
Access all of the databases at:
(NHS OpenAthens login required)